Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Terms of reference for INX-ZA committee members

1. Introduction

ISPA has operated Internet exchanges in South Africa since 1996. Decisions about the operation of the exchanges were historically been made by ISPA’s Management Committee, supported by an INX working group. Since 2013, ISPA has made use of the “INX-ZA” brand and identity to differentiate the INX activities of the association from other ISPA activities.

In 2015, ISPA established an INX Committee which is responsible for the oversight of ISPA’s Internet exchanges. The exchange points remain ISPA initiatives, but operate with high levels of independence. ISPA’s exchange points must be operated for the good of the Internet community, and there must be a high level of consultation with the users of the exchange points.

2. INX Committee role

The operations of the INX Committee are detailed in a separate INX-ZA By-Laws document. These INX-ZA By-Laws are binding on the INX Committee, and considered to be an extension of these Terms of Reference.

ISPA’s Board may delegate the authority to enter into agreements for services required for the operation of the exchanges to the INX Committee.

3. ISPA Board role

The INX Committee is intended to operate as independently as possible, and to achieve this, the ISPA Board of Directors delegates the responsibility for the operation of the INXes and the development of INX policy to the INX Committee, as detailed above. However, the INXes and INX-ZA are initiatives of ISPA, and hence ISPA must continue to exercise high-level oversight through ISPA’s Board of Directors.

The oversight may include:

  • The appointment of an ISPA Director as an ex officio INX Committee member who shall report back to the ISPA Board on the activities of the INX Committee and who shall serve as the primary liaison person between the Board and the INX Committee. This cannot be someone who is already an elected INX Committee member.
  • Approval of the annual INX budget prepared by the INX Committee. Should ISPA’s Board not approve the budget, it must be referred back to the INX Committee for further review.
  • All INX financial transactions will be subject to the same oversight, controls and reporting requirements as any other ISPA financial transactions.
  • Approval of any contracts or agreements into which the INX Committee wishes ISPA to enter.
  • The right of ISPA’s Board to dissolve the INX Committee under exceptional circumstances and to reconstitute it through a new election. Such steps will only be taken if the INX Committee is dysfunctional, or if the overall direction taken by the INX Committee threatens ISPA’s sustainability, operations or reputation.

ISPA will provide administrative support for the INX Committee as is required for the Committee to operate effectively.

4. Changes to these Terms of Reference

ISPA’s Board shall have the sole discretion to amend these Terms of Reference. The INX Committee may recommend changes to these Terms of Reference to ISPA, and such recommendations must be duly considered by the Board.

Current INX Committee members

For 2023/24, the INX committee members are

  • Angus Hay
  • Edrich de Lange
  • Portia Rabonda 
  • Riaan Vos
  • Prenesh Padayachee
  • Tarryn Kidd 
  • William Stucke


  • Ant Brooks (ex. officio)
  • Enzio von Diest (ex. officio) 
  • Nishal Goburdhan  (ex. officio)

Previous INX Committee Members

Our thanks go to the individual below whom have previously served on the INX management committee.

  • Graham Beneke (2015-2017)
  • Ian Castleman (2015-2017)
  • Anthony Engelbrecht (2015-2018)
  • Ranveer Seetaloo (2017-2018)
  • Saul Stein (2015-2018)
  • Malcolm Siegel (2015-2020)
  • Cobus Viljoen (2019-2020)
  • Heinrich Heesen 
  • William Stucke (2018-2020)
  • Ben Roberts (2015-2022)
  • Sarel Roos (2021-2022)
  • Robert Jooste (2021-2023*)
  • Trevor Damster (2021-2023*)